Created with Sketch.

25. - 26. Aug 2021 | Virtual Conference

Car Body Painting INSIGHT @ HONDA 2021

Honda’s Newest Paint Shop Driven for Acura Quality

Carbon neutrality, operational flexibility and product quality are all key to Honda´s global success. And a $210-million painting facility at the company´s Marysville Auto Plant in Ohio is helping operations there succeed in producing quality vehicles, while also meeting Honda´s green-factory initiatives to reduce the total life-cycle environmental impacts of its products and operations.  Participants in the “Car Body Painting Insight @ Honda 2021” will see and hear from August 25th-26th how the innovative paint shop helps Honda Acura TLX and ILX.

To meet quality and green-factory goals, Honda introduced a new 4-coat, 2-bake (4C2B) painting application that incorporates 2K primer technology. This innovative application moves Honda closer to achieving its 2050 green-factory goals.

Additional technologies utilized in the new paint shop include dry-booth technology, automated topcoat inspection, individual anode zone control rectifiers for e-coat, and new Honda developed paint-bell technology.

Join us virtually and experience the Honda paint shop in Marysville.

We look forward to your participation.

 

Honda Paint Shop Tour

A special highlight of the conference is a virtual tour through the paint shop of Honda’s Marysville, Ohio auto plant.  Honda associates will discuss technical improvements made for quality and green-factory results, such as dry-booth technology that reduces water and utility usage.

Don’t miss the chance to join the virtual tour through the Honda paint shop.

 

in cooperation with


PLUS

VIRTUAL NETWORKING

Don't take any health risk at all and get your personal front row seat

Meet the Speakers online

Speakers will be available for discussions in small groups or individually in our virtual lobby after their live presentation session.

VIDEO ON DEMAND

For conference participants, all presentations will be available for streaming-on-demand from the conferences website for two weeks after their live presentation.

Conference program

Download program brochure here

PDF | 879.9 KB

Download

Wednesday, August 25, 2021

15.00 h CEST (UTC+2)/ 9.00 am EDT (UTC-4)
Welcome and conference introduction

Andrea Huber, Automotive Circle, DE
Chris Hall, Honda Development & Manufacturing of America, US

15.15 h CEST (UTC+2)/ 9.15 am EDT (UTC-4)

Keynote
Chuck Holton, Chris Gentis, Honda Development & Manufacturing of America, US

GUIDED TOUR
15.30 h CEST (UTC+2)/ 9.30 am EDT (UTC-4)

Stations:

  • E-coat system/ E-coat rectifiers
  • Sealer 2-robots (A&B booth)
  • Auto inspection
  • Dry booth
  • Paint booth
  • 2k primer

17.00h CEST (UTC+2)/ 11.00 am EDT (UTC-4)
Q&A Guided Tour
After each tour station, you will have the chance to ask individual questions to the presenter team. At the end, there will also be a Q&A for further questions.

17.30h CEST (UTC+2)/ 11.30 am EDT (UTC-4)

Break
Meet the Speakers online / Virtual networking

18.30 h CEST (UTC+2) / 12.30 pm EDT (UTC-4)

Mission: Zero - Roadmap to Decarbonization/ Focus Paintshop
Patricia Bernstein, Dr. Christian Ebert, Milos Vacek, Audi Mexico, MX

19.00h CEST (UTC+2) / 1.00 pm EDT (UTC-4)              

Toyota Environmental Challenge 2050
Kevin Butt, Toyota Motor North America (TMNA), US

19.30 h CEST (UTC+2) / 1.30 pm EDT (UTC-4)
Enhanced aesthetics, durability, and environmental sustainability without a paint booth

James McGuire, entrotech inc., US

20.00h CEST (UTC+2) / 2.00 pm EDT (UTC-4)
Break

Meet the Speakers online / Virtual networking

20.30 h CEST (UTC+2) / 2.30 pm EDT (UTC-4)

Leveraging Self-Healing Functionality in the Design of High Performance Sustainable Coatings
Gerald Wilson, Autonomic Materials Inc., US
 

21.00 h CEST (UTC+2) / 3.00 pm EDT (UTC-4)
Understanding Coatings - Take the guess-work out of coating performance
Dr. Andy Mellor, Kruss Scientific Instruments, US

21.30 h CEST (UTC+2) / 3.30 pm EDT (UTC-4)

End of presentations Day 1
Meet the Speakers online / Virtual networking


 

Thursday, August 26, 2021

 

15.00 h CEST (UTC+2) / 9.00 am EDT (UTC-4)
Welcome

Andrea Huber, Automotive Circle, DE
Chris Hall, Honda Development & Manufacturing of America, US

15.15 h CEST (UTC+2) / 9.15 am EDT (UTC-4)

Honda - Acura Quality Enhancements
Chris Hall, Honda Development & Manufacturing of America, US

15.45 h CEST (UTC+2) / 9.45 am EDT (UTC-4)

Advances in Self-Stratifying Coatings
Prof. Mark Soucek, University of Akron, US

16.15 h CEST (UTC+2) / 10.15 am EDT (UTC-4)

1k UV-A Automotive OEM/Refinish - Clear Coats and Primers
Michael Dvorchak, Dvorchak Enterprises LLC, US

16.45 h CEST (UTC+2) / 10.45 am EDT (UTC-4)
Break
Meet the Speakers online / Virtual networking


17.15 h CEST (UTC+2) / 11.15 am EDT (UTC-4)
Spray Application and Drying of Automotive Paint
Prof. Sanjeev Chandra, University of Toronto, CA

17.45 h CEST (UTC+2) / 11.45 am EDT (UTC-4)

Use of Infrared energy to cure painted vehicles
Stefan Wollenweber, IWT Infrarot-Wärmetechnik GmbH, DE

18.15 h CEST (UTC+2) / 12.15 pm EDT (UTC-4)
Break
Meet the Speakers online / Virtual networking

19.15 h CEST (UTC+2) / 1.15 pm EDT (UTC-4)

Time controlled polishing concepts for top coat lines - flexible, efficient and energy saving using the example of Toyota Paint Shop at TMMK, Kentucky
Marco Petermüller, Visomax Coating GmbH, DE

19.45 h CEST (UTC+2) / 1.45 pm EDT (UTC-4)

Simulation of the Application of Cavity Wax
Dr. Stefan Hildenbrand, Pfinder KG, DE

20.15 h CEST (UTC+2) / 2.15 pm EDT (UTC-4)
Farewell and End of the conference
Andrea Huber, Automotive Circle, DE
Chris Hall, Honda Development & Manufacturing of America, US

Meet the Speakers online / Virtual networking (open end!)

*Each presentation is followed by 10 minutes of live discussion and Q&A with the speaker*

 

Conferene program is subject to change
Status as of: August 18th, 2021

Virtual Guided Tour

 

Sneak Peek into Honda´s paint shop in Marysville, Ohio

A special highlight of the conference is a virtual tour through the paint shop of Honda’s Marysville, Ohio auto plant.  Honda associates will discuss technical improvements made for quality and green-factory results, such as dry-booth technology that reduces water and utility usage.

Don’t miss the chance to join the virtual tour through the Honda paint shop.

Honda will show you the following stations:

  1. E-COAT SYSTEM  /   E-COAT RECTIFIERS  
    1. 3-zone Voltage control vs. 16 Zones
      1. Uniform application of E-coat film around the units (exterior and interior)
      2. Model-by-Model voltage settings based off RFID

         

  2. SEALER - 2 ROBOTS (A & B BOOTH)   
    1. Hem sealing robots to improve door sealer appearance and consistency to each unit
    2. 2 Booth operations to complete all sealer application by robots, allowing associates to focus on quality of squeegee and brush applications

       

  3. AUTO INSPECTION
    1. Inspection Repeatability for detection and 100% of the unit reviewed on every unit produced
    2. Ability to adjust detection size based on customer feedback (internal and external)
    3. Ability to program zoned areas per model - Ranking levels for detection
    4. Data logging by VIN with defect location and pictures available for up to 30 days of production

     

  4. DRY BOOTH 
    1. Dry Booth technology developed for 1,000 units per day production
    2. Green Factory Environmental improvements – Reduced water usage and implemented the recycling of limestone material

       

  5. PAINT BOOTH
    1. Applicator / Docking Stations -  Applicators developed to apply both 1K and 2K material applications
    2. Development of the applicator for 2K primer

       

  6. 2K PRIMER
    1. Material Development and testing leading toward 4coat 2 Bake process
    2. Material achievement for Quality appearance
    3. Reduction of Primer Ovens – Energy reductions – Green factory activity

registration

Register now and enjoy your conference experience!


PROGRAM committee

Icon Kopf

Chris Hall

Honda Development & Manufacturing of America

Manufacturing Strategy and Standards Department, North American Paint Group

Jason Vanatta

Honda Development & Manufacturing of America

Marysville Automotive Plant Paint Engineering

Matt Taylor

Honda Development & Manufacturing of America

Marysville Automotive Plant Paint Engineering

The conference addresses

  • Paint shop managers, planners and employees of OEM
  • Suppliers and service providers
  • Experts from institutes

All responsible for projects regarding Car Body Painting in the areas of pre-development, development, planning and production.

Become a Sponsor or exhibitor

Take advantage of the high coverage of the Automotive Circle and profit from the exhibition and sponsoring options before and during the event. Show your competence and services, matching the conference subjects, to the numerous car body engineers of international OEM. Thus, you are strengthening your brand awareness in the automotive industry!

Come on board as a sponsor and benefit from this excellent platform to strongly promote your company’s capabilities as a reliable supplier!

Check out the various sponsoring options!

 

Your Contact:

Terms & Conditions

PDF | 129.1 KB

Download

Frauke Haentsch

Director Sales

Prices, Terms & Conditions

Organizer

Vincentz Network GmbH & Co. KG
Plathnerstrasse 4c
30175 Hannover, Germany

T. +49 511 9910-384
F. +49 511 9910-379

www.automotive-circle.com
jannike.von.kampen@vincentz.net
   

T. +49 511 9910 - 000
F +49 511 9910 - 099    
www.vincentz.net

All virtual events take place exclusively in digital form on www.automotive-circle.com

Participation Fee

895,00 USD

All prices are net prices. All virtual events are subject to VAT only in Germany.

All fees are due immediately - in any case before the start of the event - and are to be paid by quoting the invoice number. With the confirmation and invoice the participant will receive the corresponding access data for the virtual event. The prerequisite for this is that all payments have been received in full.

Registration

Registration is preferably done via the event's website, alternatively by e-mail or regular mail. The confirmation of participation and invoice will be sent via e-mail. After receipt of payment your registration becomes binding and you will receive a corresponding confirmation of participation. Without this confirmation, there is no claim to participation in the booked event. Registrations will be considered in the order in which they are received, except EuroCarBody. However, the number of participants is limited in all cases. A special application procedure applies for participation in the EuroCarBody 2021 virtual.

Services
The following services are associated with the registration:
-    Participation in the virtual event
-    Participation documents
-    Authorization to download the PDF documents on the Internet
-    Receipt of the list of participants
-    Sponsor information

Language of Communication
All virtual events of the Automotive Circle are held exclusively in English. All documents are predominately composed in the English language.

Technical Platform
All virtual events of the Automotive Circle are planned and conducted using electronic tools and platforms. The following tools are used:
-    doo event management platform
-    GoToWebinar
-    sli.do
-    wonder.me

Each participant is responsible for using these tools. If it is not possible to use them, e.g. due to internal company requirements, this does not entitle the participant to cancel the participation free of charge.

Cancellation / Withdrawal
For cancellations between four and two weeks before the event, a cancellation fee of 50 % of the invoice amount is due. In the event of cancellation later than two weeks before the event or in the event of non-participation without prior cancellation, the full participation fee must be paid. However, it is always possible to name a substitute person. Cancellations and changes must be notified in writing and will be confirmed by the organizer.
If the virtual event has to be cancelled by the organizer due to insufficient number of participants, technical complications or due to illness of one or more speakers, already paid participation fees will be refunded in full. Further claims do not exist.

Program Changes
Automotive Circle reserves the right to revise event content and change implementation tools. There is no claim to a specific lecture, workshop or references. Registered trademarks: No guarantee is given that the products, processes and other names mentioned are free of third-party property rights.

Data Protection
As participant of an event, you agree that data such as company, address (zip code, city, country), first name, name and job function of the attendee will be published on the list of participants. The list of participants is available to all participants in digital form. The list of participants could also be used by sponsors and exhibitors for advertising purposes. Objection against publication and circulation of your data may be made at any time until 3 weeks prior to the event and has to be made in writing to the organizer. The address data are processed for customer service and information purposes in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). Company’s name, city and country might be published on the Internet as reference for upcoming Automotive Circle-events.

Miscellaneous
With your binding registration you agree that film, image, word and sound recordings may be made of you during the event. These recordings may be used without restriction by Vincentz Network or authorized parties in accordance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).

Also have a look at our Privacy Policy.

Hanover, March 2021

Your Contacts

Andrea Huber

automotive.circle@web.de
T +49 151 40260 773

Presidium

Jannike von Kampen

Senior Event Manager

These events might also be interesting for you!

28. - 29. Sep 2021 | Virtual Conference

6. - 28. Oct 2021 | Virtual Conference

26. - 27. Oct 2021 | Bad Nauheim, Germany

0 Comments

You are not logged in.

To write a comment you need to be logged in.

Login
For continuously improving and optimizing our websites, we use cookies. By using our website, you agree to the usage of cookies. For more information, please visit our privacy policy.
Accept